BCCI announces compensation for national players

New Delhi: The BCCI announced on Monday that domestic cricketers affected by the 2020-21 season cut short by Covid will receive an additional 50% match fee in compensation for the disruption and also increased their compensation for the coming season.

Many Indian cricketers have struggled financially after the Ranji Trophy was not held last year for the first time in its history due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The BCCI compensation package for these players was long overdue.

“Cricketers who participated in the 2019-2020 national season will receive an additional 50% match fee as compensation for the 2020-21 season lost due to the COVID-19 situation,” said BCCI general secretary , Jay Shah, in a tweet.

Hyderabad News

click here for more information on Hyderabad

The decision to award compensation and increase the match fee was taken at the BCCI’s Apex Council meeting on Monday. The daily fee for Ranji’s top cricketers, who have played over 40 matches, has also almost doubled to Rs 60,000 which will ensure these players earn Rs 2.40 lakh per first class match. Those who have played 21 to 40 matches will be paid Rs 50,000, while players with less experience will be entitled to a remuneration of Rs 40,000 per day.

The move will likely benefit more than 2,000 male cricketers from the under-16s to the seniors. Shah also said domestic players will receive higher match fees. According to the announcement, cricketers in the Under 23 and Under 19 categories will receive 25,000 and 20,000 rupees per day, respectively. “I am happy to announce the increase in match fees for domestic cricketers,” Shah tweeted.

Before Monday’s decision, a first XI player in a Ranji Trophy match was entitled to Rs 35,000 per day. For the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy, BCCI pays Rs. 17,500 per game. BCCI has also announced compensation for female cricketers and senior female cricketers will now be paid Rs 20,000 per match instead of Rs 12,500.

Recommendations to increase the payment were made by a working committee made up of former Indian captain Mohammed Azharuddin, Yudhvir Singh, Santosh Menon, Jaydev Shah, Avishek Dalmiya, Rohan Jaitley and Devajit Saikia.

Now you can get handpicked stories from Telangana today to Telegram everyday. Click on the link to subscribe.

Click to follow the Telangana Today Facebook page and Twitter .

Source link

Previous Amerisure Implements One Inc in Historic End-to-End Claims Transformation
Next Ontario Superior Court Certifies National Class Action Against Aviva Insurance Company of Canada for COVID-19 Business Interruption Insurance